Posted in Uncategorized

Castaway

One of the greatest thrills of my life came one early spring morning as I fished in a small pond in Vidalia, Georgia. I awoke early to walk down to the pond with my trusty rod and reel, and my lucky lure. I got into the small Jon boat and paddled put into the middle of the pond.

As I’m fishing there I began to see snakes swimming through the grass in the area I was fishing. All of a sudden as I felt a strong tug and knew that I had hooked some grass or got snagged on a branch underwater. Then something amazing happened. My line came to life. And I saw a 500 pound largemouth bass jump out of the water. Yes, I’m exaggerating a bit. Ok so I’m exaggerating a whole lot.

But as I began to reel the line in I began to thank God and said God if you’re up there please don’t let this line break. The lord was good and I landed the almost eleven pound largemouth. I hurriedly  paddled to the shore where I very quickly made the way to the home where I was staying and ran up the stairs (6:30 AM), where I proudly yelled for my wife Brenda to wake up.

I went back downstairs to proudly display my fish and my wife walked out and saw me standing there with my large bass and to say the least she wasn’t impressed.

In my excitement, I cried out to God to show me favor in landing the largest fish of my life. I’m sure that we’ve all had moments where we have cried out to God in our excitement.

However, I wonder how often we find that same excitement when we miss the big fish and instead catch the snag on the bottom. Can we still find thank our heavenly father?

Philippians 4:6, says

do not to be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be known to God.

God sees us, he sees our joy, he sees our pain, and he knows our hearts and needs. Are we able to go to God in those times thanking him for our salvation and for the many answered prayers and blessings that he has given us. And in doing so can we find peace.

Verse 7, shows us that we can find peace in knowing that God has seen our hearts and has heard our prayer.

And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

So today, we can know that God is Omnipotent (All Powerful), God is Omniscience (All knowing), and God is Omnipresence (Always present). God sees all, and is ever present in our lives and in our world.  And on that we can find peace that God will guard our hearts and that we can cast our line into the water knowing that God will always be there to set our line free if we too become snagged. We can find comfort in knowing that God not only hears our prayers but that he answers prayers.

I’d like to encourage each of you to create a prayer journal and list your requests before God. And create another column of when and how God answered those prayers.

Remember that Brenda and I love you and God does too!
All rights reserved

Jeff Houdyshelt

Author:

Jeff and his wife Brenda have been married for 28 years and are part time missionaries in the nation of Mexico and in town of Matamoros, Mexico. They both attend Generation Changers church, in Nashville, Tennessee. Jeff is a licensed minister and pastoral counselor. He has spent the past several years of his life dedicated to ministering to and the counseling of those facing addiction. He also counsels and meets weekly with the families of those in addiction. His pursuits are to help set those struggling free with the love and message of Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

