Posted in Uncategorized

Time To Pray

Into The Day
I got up early one morning, And rushed into the day

I had so much to accomplish I didn’t have time to pray 

Troubles just tumbled about me, And heavier came each task

Why doesn’t God help me, I wondered, HE answered, “you didn’t ask.”

I tried to come into God’s presence, I tried all my keys in the lock.

God gently and lovingly chided, “Why child, you didn’t knock.”

I wanted to see joy and beauty, But the day toiled on grey and bleak,

I called on the Lord for the reason- HE said “You didn’t seek.”

I woke up early this morning, And paused before entering the day.

I had so much to accomplish, That I had time to pray.

-Author Unknown
In my research for this devotion I found that the average adult spends 33 hours watching their favorite tv shows. Another study shows that most people spend 116 minutes per day on Social Media; that’s a whopping five years and four months over the course of a lifetime. And according to a 2014 study reported by the Washington Post, Americans spend between 2 and 17 minutes on “religious activities.” This includes reading God’s word and in prayer. 

Jesus said in Matthew 7:7-8, 

Ask, and it will be given to you, seek and you will find, knock and it will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, and the one who seeks finds, and to the one who knocks it will be opened. 

Today’s lesson is simple:

Do you pray

How do you pray

Why do you pray

How much time do you pray

The author of the poet hit the nail on the head. Prayer often times is an afterthought. The Bible declares that we should pray without ceasing; pray about everything (1st Thessalonians 5:16-18, Philippians 4:6-7). I wonder how much our lives would change, and how much our faith would increase if we spent a little more time on our knees in the presence of God. 

So today, I want to encourage you to take an inventory of your life and time spent seeking God. Put down the remote. Lay down the phone, and pick up the Word of God, and begin our days in prayer seeking to honor and please God. Seek him with all your heart and find out that yes, God, does still answer prayer. 

Remember that Brenda and I love you, and that God does too.
Jeff Houdyshelt

All Rights Reserved

Author:

Jeff and his wife Brenda have been married for 28 years and are part time missionaries in the nation of Mexico and in town of Matamoros, Mexico. They both attend Generation Changers church, in Nashville, Tennessee. Jeff is a licensed minister and pastoral counselor. He has spent the past several years of his life dedicated to ministering to and the counseling of those facing addiction. He also counsels and meets weekly with the families of those in addiction. His pursuits are to help set those struggling free with the love and message of Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

