Posted in bible, Bible Study, Biblical counseling, Christian Counseling, Counseling, Devotion, Devotional reading, faith, God, Gospel, Grace, Holy, holy spirit, hope, Jesus Christ, Mercy, Prayer, Religion,, Strength through faith, Worship

Don’t Run On Empty

Many years ago, Brenda and I bought a Red Mitsubishi pickup. I loved that truck and so much so that I literally drove it on empty. Each time that I ran out of gas I would faithfully call my wife who would come to my aid. The third time that I ran out of gas she told me that if I ran out again to call someone else because she was not going to come bail me out again. 
Like my truck, many of God’s people choose to run on empty. Some are fixated in a perpetual cycle where they seem to encounter the same struggles over and over again. 

God has given us everything that we need in order to obtain the life that he wants us to live. Our bible is an essential component to help prevent us from running spiritually dry. Jesus understood just how important his Father’s word was. Consider the words of Christ as he is being tempted:
Then Jesus was led up by the Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted by the devil. 2 And after fasting forty days and forty nights, he was hungry. 3 And the tempter came and said to him, “If you are the Son of God, command these stones to become loaves of bread.” 4 But he answered, “It is written, “‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.’”
Matthew 4:1-4

In his response to temptation, Jesus Christ, the true only son of God knew that it was his Father’s word that would give him the strength to endure the temptation. If understanding, knowing, and memorizing scripture was important to help Christ in his moment of temptation then how important is it for each of us. 

One of the first questions that I ask persons in the counseling room is how much do they read the Bible. Almost all of them will reply little or none. My reply is that there is no great mystery as to why they are stuck in a perpetual cycle of misery and pain. 
God’s holy word is crucial for the believer. Memorizing God’s word helps us as the Holy Spirit job will remind us of scripture when we need it. But the bible declares that it has to be stored in our hearts. It can help recharge your battery, fill your spiritual tank, and give you a new outlook on life. It will also help you change as it speaks to you and convicts you. 
So today, I want to encourage each of you to read, pray over, meditate on, and memorize God’s word. His word is one of the most effective spiritual tools available to the believer. I know from personal experience because just several years ago, I was the person stuck in the vicious cycle. But I had a good good friend in Christ, and in Pastor Jeff Cole and Jerry Smith who both demonstrated to me the importance of studying God’s word. And in doing so I have grown in my love of Christ and in a much deeper understanding of God and my savior. 

Want to see your life change. Put down the cell phone, tablet, remote, and magazines and pickup God’s word. It will speak to you and help you grow in Christ. 
Remember that Brenda and I love you and that God does too. 

Author:

Jeff and his wife Brenda have been married for 28 years and are part time missionaries in the nation of Mexico and in town of Matamoros, Mexico. They both attend Generation Changers church, in Nashville, Tennessee. Jeff is a licensed minister and pastoral counselor. He has spent the past several years of his life dedicated to ministering to and the counseling of those facing addiction. He also counsels and meets weekly with the families of those in addiction. His pursuits are to help set those struggling free with the love and message of Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

