Posted in Bible Study, Biblical counseling, Christian Counseling, Counseling, Devotion, Devotional reading, faith, God, Gospel, Grace, hope, Jesus Christ, Mercy, Prayer, Religion,, Strength through faith

Lead or Follow

Leading or Following

In my last posting I wrote about Joy overHappiness and how the things of the world that consume many of us and lead to anything but happiness. Have you ever stopped to ask the question why is it that there are so many people following others who are believers but act and speak as though they were not. My wife Brenda would be happy to discuss my faults and flaws without anyone who listens. However, she would also tell you that I seek God in everything that I do. The reason is my extreme faith in the one who saved me and to the many people that he has brought into my life as mentors.

To so many young people are lost because of who they choose to seek out as mentors (or lack of). The apostle Paul tells us in Titus 2:1-8, to teach sound doctrine to be examples to the younger people in our lives. Why is that important? Because they are searching for answers, for guidance, and for direction. In Counseling, I have told many people that they are where they are and experiencing their issues partly because of me. Of course they all give me a strange look and ask why would I say that. My answer is that God saved me to spread the light of the gospel just as he did the multitudes and millions of others professing to know Christ. The sad thing is that we don’t do the very thing gifted to us. I will be the first one to admit that I’ve called way short. Whether because of busy schedule,some health issues, or a myriad of other things.

I wonder what might happen if we all (including me) gave just a little time to sharing the word of God with someone daily how this might change those people and ultimately the world. It often times comes when you least expect it. Recently had a young lady who had become homeless, no place to stay, no food, and young baby to house and feed. As she broke down in tears I thought to myself wow what she must be going through. An offer of prayer was met with a wholehearted yes. An offer of a number for the Rescue Mission and a meal and few dollars for gas and food later was also graciously accepted. I could have easily went on my merry way (and I’m sure just like me we’ve all done exactly that). However, I didn’t and while I don’t know the outcome of her situation I do know that at least for a few moments she experienced the love, grace, and message of Jesus Christ.

It’s my hope that each of us will become mentors and accept those opportunities to just pass the love and message of Jesus to others that the good Lord sees fit to place in our paths. I think that if we do we will also find ourselves and our situations just a little bit better.

Hope that you get some comfort and joy out of these short devotional. Love to gear some feedback and you can make a choice to follow my page by clicking on the link. As always Brenda and I love you and God does too.