Posted in bible, Bible Study, Biblical counseling, Christian Counseling, Counseling, Devotion, Devotional reading, faith, God, Gospel, Grace, Jesus Christ, Mercy, Religion,, Strength through faith

Keeping the TRUTH of the Gospel

Friends,

As I read 2nd Timothy 4 this morning  I found the words of encouragement from the apostle Paul to rang so true today. He says that people will begin to find a place where the truth of the gospel is preached to their liking, and not the true message and evangelist truth of the gospel. It is disheartening to even see ministers on certain tv shows and their programs that are circumventing, exaggerating, twisting, and turning the gospel into something that fits the current times. I had an opportunity to speak with a young lady who is in a same sex relationship. She had been previously married to a man and divorced and had child. As we spoke I she asked me my opinion of her current relationship. My reply was that my opinion did not matter but what mattered was what the word of God says. I began by saying it is not my job to judge and that I have my own sins that I will have to answer for. To make a long story short I simply said that her current living and relationship was in direct violation of God’s law and that like me she would answer for her sins just as I would. I ended by saying to each of us can find redemption through a confession and repantamce of our sins and accepting Christ as our savior. As I try to do with all persons that I have a chance to counsel I want to leave with encouragement and to do some soul searching. Our conversation ended nicely, and I look forward to speaking with her even more.

Today, the truth of the gospel is more needed than ever. We have such a divisive world and people are finding truth from everything and place on the earth. And if they hear something they don’t like they just search for something new that fits their system of beliefs. This is covered by every spectrum in our country to include our politicians up to and inclduding some in the ministry. It is our duty and responsibilities as believers to be ready to speak the truth in love and with power and boldness. My prayer for each of you today is that we will do so when opportunities arise.

God bless you and remember that Brenda and I love you and that God does too.

Author:

Jeff and his wife Brenda have been married for 28 years and are part time missionaries in the nation of Mexico and in town of Matamoros, Mexico. They both attend Generation Changers church, in Nashville, Tennessee. Jeff is a licensed minister and pastoral counselor. He has spent the past several years of his life dedicated to ministering to and the counseling of those facing addiction. He also counsels and meets weekly with the families of those in addiction. His pursuits are to help set those struggling free with the love and message of Jesus Christ.

Leave a comment